ASA Past President Wins National Lincoln Agribusiness Award

first_imgAmerican Soybean Association (ASA) Past-President Bart Ruth was announced as the Agribusiness recipient for the Abraham Lincoln National Agricultural Awards. The winners were announced at the 2009 Farm Progress Show in Decatur, Illinois. Ruth was President of ASA in 2001-02.”It’s sometimes quite shocking to be selected for your individual efforts when you know there were a great number of people that were involved in the success during your terms of leadership, but it’s always quite an honor to be selected for awards such as this,” Ruth said. “It also reenergizes you, possibly, to stay further involved in your industry.”Ruth began his farming career while still in high school by renting a small number of acres from his father. After completing his Bachelor of Science Degree in Agronomy-Crop Production from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, he started farming in partnership with his father full time. Ruth currently farms approximately 1,500 acres of row crop corn and soybeans.Ruth decided to pursue leadership roles within ASA after serving on the Nebraska Soybean Association Board and was elected one of four Vice Presidents in 1999. The following year he was elected First Vice President, the first in a three-year cycle culminating with terms as ASA President in 2001 and ASA Chairman in 2002.During his terms on the ASA Board, Ruth had the opportunity to testify before Congress on four occasions. He played an active role in developing farm policies that impact farmers on a daily basis. Ruth has traveled internationally on 15 different occasions on behalf of the soybean industry. His interest and knowledge in policy development, specifically trade policy, has greatly benefited the state and national soybean organizations.”As I look back during some of the policy accomplishments that the American Soybean Association achieved during my tenure, I think we had a lot of really positive successes that really set the tone for the soybean industry for the past decade.” Ruth said. “I think particularly getting the biodiesel industry started in the U.S. was a major accomplishment, as well as getting full program status for soybeans and direct payments in the 2002 Farm Bill.”Ruth was elected to the Nebraska Agricultural Hall of Fame in 2007 and received the Eisenhower Fellowship for Agriculture in 2005. He is currently a National Steering Committee member of the 25x’25 Renewable Energy Work Group.The Abraham Lincoln National Agricultural Awards program was established to promote agriculture and its impact on the citizens of the world and to celebrate individuals, companies, businesses and educational institutions that have made significant contributions in this area.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *