Early Tipp goals power them past Cork to seal AllIreland hurling glory

first_img 52 Comments https://the42.ie/4779877 Reports from Gaelic Grounds Subs23. Seán Hayes (Kiladangan) for O’Connor (36)21. Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Ormond (48)22. Joe Fogarty (Moneygall) for Bowe (52)24. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Ryan (58)17. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields) for Connolly (63)Cork1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)3. James Keating (Kildorrery)(captain)4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)6. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)5. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarrife)7. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)8. Ryan Walsh (Kanturk)12. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)22. Simon Kennefick (Glen Rovers)9. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)11. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)13. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)14. Shane O’Regan (Watergrasshill)10. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)Subs23. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh) for Kennefick (half-time)18. Jamie Copps (Ballyhea) for Keating (40)21. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Connery (40)15. Padraig Power (Blarney) for Walsh (53)Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway) Saturday 24 Aug 2019, 7:32 PM Aug 24th 2019, 7:32 PM Early Tipp goals power them past Cork to seal All-Ireland hurling glory 18,652 was the attendance at the Gaelic Grounds for today’s U20 decider. By Fintan O’Toolecenter_img 35,115 Views Tipperary 5-17Cork 1-18IT WAS ALREADY a hurling week to savour for Tipperary, this evening in Limerick simply rounded it off in style for them.More All-Ireland silverware for their trophy cabinet, a double to replicate the feat they achieved at the start of the decade and evidence that points to a bunch of bright prospects capable of stepping up in the future. Cork’s Brian Turnbull with Tipperary’s Craig Morgan. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHOThere was only a point separating Tipperary and Cork at the close of a thrilling Munster final last month, the gap had widened considerably when the teams renewed acquaintances here in the Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U20 decider.The story of the game can be neatly packaged in the events of the opening eight minutes. Cork had four points on the board in that time frame. Tipperary matched that total in the number of goals they registered. That essentially settled this one.It was a whirlwind opening, Tipperary rained deliveries down towards the Ennis Road side of the ground and overwhelmed the Cork rearguard. They set the tone after a mere 19 seconds, Conor Bowe popping a pass through for Billy Seymour to drill home the first goal.Three more followed. Sparkling work by Jake Morris paved the way for Andrew Ormond to net in the 5th minute, Seymour raised another green flag moments later and Jerome Cahill completed the blitz by dashing through for a fine finish. Tipperary’s early blast of goals powered them in front. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHOCork goalkeeper Ger Collins had seen wave of attacks roll his way but he did superbly to deny Tipperary a fifth goal inside the opening quarter when repelling a snapshot from Bowe. The Ballinhassig man also did well to repel Cahill when he sought a second goal after the interval.It was damage limitation stuff for Cork. Seymour notched 2-5 overall with Morris contributing 0-8, the pair were the chief architects all evening in cutting loose up front. Cork managed to stop the rot before the interval to cut the deficit but they still trailed 4-9 to 0-10.Their task looked considerable entering the second half and the boost of an early goal never arrived as Tipperary’s rearguard spearheaded by captain Craig Morgan and Paddy Cadell held firm.Cork did manage to eventually find a route to the net, Sean Twomey spraying in a pass for Tommy O’Connell in the 46th minute and he darted inside before unleashing a bullet to the far corner. Driven on by Robert Downey, Ger Millerick and Sean O’Leary-Hayes – a trio whose influence grew in the closing period – Cork did generate a sequence of attacks.They got sight of goal on a couple more occasions but Tipperary goalkeeper Aaron Browne blocked a drive from Sheehan and Twomey drilled another inches wide. Pointed frees by Brian Turnbull were a primary source of scores for Cork and Tipperary had built up a sufficient buffer.The champions added the finishing touches to their evening’s work. Seymour landing an exquisite sideline cut, substitute Cathal Bourke charging through for a fifth goal and Morris popping over a late free. Cork concluded with 14 men, a sombre evening for them completed by O’Connell being shown a second yellow.Their large and vociferous support spilled onto the pitch at the finish. It’s been a week for them to relish.Scorers for Tipperary: Billy Seymour 2-5 (0-1 sideline), Jake Morris 0-8 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65), Andrew Ormond 1-2, Jerome Cahill 1-1, Cathal Bourke 1-0, Conor Bowe 0-1.Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-8 (0-7f), Tommy O’Connell 1-2 (0-2 ’65), Ryan Walsh, Daire Connery (0-1f) 0-2 each, Conor O’Callaghan, Robert Downey, Shane O’Regan, Brian Roche 0-1 each. Tipperary1. Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)4. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)(captain)3. Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs)6. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)5. Niall Heffernan (Golden-Kilfeacle)2. Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Éire Óg)7. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill)8. Ciarán Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney)12. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers)10. Gearóid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy)9. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)11. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)13. Andrew Ormond (JK Brackens)14. Billy Seymour (Kiladanagn)15. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy) Tweet thisShare on FacebookEmail this article Fintan O’Toole Short URL Share16 Tweet Email2 last_img read more